top of page
Our Members:

Membership in MMYC is open to anyone with an interest in any aspect of model yachting.


Collectively, we are young, old, male, female … with varying skill levels and from a wide variety of backgrounds and experiences. There are some whose lives and livelihoods revolve around sailing and the sea.  Others have only recently picked up this wonderful pastime.


One of our members has designed, built, and sailed dozens of exquisite wooden pond yachts, and taught model yacht design and construction at the WoodenBoat School in Brooklin, Maine for decades.  Another member with no prior experience heard about our weekly races, came by one cold Sunday for a look, and was behind the controls of his own boat one week later.  A few of us are lifelong Mainers, but many others are “from away.”  


What we have in common is a love of model yachts.  And what we prize more than anything is the genuine camaraderie we feel when we spend time together, having fun with our little boats.

Our Current Officers:

Commodore – Jeff Van Peski


Vice Commodore – Bob Wellen


Treasurer – Angie Ferris


Secretary – Rob Torresen


DF65 Fleet Co-Captain – Dave Johnson


DF65 Fleet Co-Captain – Josh Underdown


DF95 Fleet Captain – Robert Guenther


Power Vessel Fleet Captain – Jonathan Eno

Recreational Fleet Captain – Dave Blanchard

Our Founders:

Tom “Huck” Massey (our first Commodore)

James Tuller Dill (1945-2021) (pictured below)

bottom of page